Skip to main content

1.2 – SHARE: Math Misconceptions: What would you do?

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      Keymaster

Discuss the True/False Statements from the viewpoint of when you were a math student and now as a math teacher.

• Mathematics is Computation. 
      • Math is just memorizing rules.
      • You are either good at math or bad at math.
      • Math is just about getting the right answer.
      • Math is creative.
      • Math is exploration.
      • There are many ways to problem solve.
      • Mistakes help our learning.
    • williamcorrtez
      Participant

. TRUE; As a student several times I thought about this and I only focused on solving problems automatically.
      FALSE; Now as a teacher I try to help my students have a better understanding and reflection on mathematics and how it helps us in our daily lives.

. TRUE; When I was a student, the teachers emphasized this point. It was essential to learn the formulas.
      FALSE; Nowadays, when I teach, the formulas are always in front of the students because I think it is more important that the students know how to apply the formulas rather than knowing them by heart.

.TRUE; As a student I was always in the category of
      bad at math, and it was something I believed in even when I attended college.
      FALSE; Now as a teacher I try to never categorize any student as good or bad. I always try to teach them that we can all learn and solve math problems, we just have different learning rhythms.

.TRUE; I remember that when I was a student, there were evaluations where the development was fine but I was wrong in the final answer. that made all my exercise bad.
      FALSE; Now, I try to evaluate the process and results and give them the opportunity to correct the result if the answer is wrong and then ask them to reflect on what they think happened regarding their error.

.FALSE; I never thought that mathematics had some creativity, but that it was a repetitive process.